Nails peeling :(

My nails were doing great they were growing they were strong and then… the dreaded peeling nails, I have lost about three nails this week. I just trimmed them all back so they are all somewhat same length. I hate when some of my nails are super long and then others, short from breaking.

For anyone that doesn’t know what I mean by peeling… This is not cracking where it splits up side and your fingernail breaks.. This is the tip of your fingernail actually splitting into two layers and peeling away making the nail tip therefore very thin now, that is why I say, I had to cut them back. 😦

I couldn’t have found this article at a more perfect time. 

See full article here:

“Chipped, peeling, flaky fingernails are never in style. If you’re reading this, you’ve probably tried a lot of different products and strategies to stop the problem from happening. Understanding how your nails got that way in the first place could help you come up with a better strategy.

Here are eight of the top causes of peeling fingernails.

Climate change / dietary issues / prescription medications /psoriasis, yeast infections or other skin conditions, chemical exposure / immersion in water / post fake nail trauma / and finally probably most of us….

The Wrong Kind of Nail Treatments

Nail strengthener and peeling nail solutions contain a lot of chemicals. Most of them are designed to make your nails bond back together to prevent breaking and peeling. Some of them may actually be making the problem worse. Formaldehyde, an ingredient in several popular strengtheners, can cause drying and irritation of the skin and nails—not to mention being a suspected cause of breast cancer. Switch to a nail care product that’s free of formaldehyde, toluene, and dibutyl pthalate, such as Nail Aid’s Peeling Nail Intense Repair Gel. Your entire body, not just your nails, will thank you.”

I went to the nail aid’s website to check it out. The bottles are $6.50 a piece, free shipping with two polish treatments within the US. I did some research and found very good reviews on everyone who used this product. 

If you have this problem, what are you using? Have you ever tried this brands products?

18 thoughts on “Nails peeling :(

  1. Hey! I’m one of the people who’s had horrible nails, so I really appreciate this post. Another great thing that’s helped me out aside from using beneficial nail treatments, is taking biotin (also known as vitamin B7). It’s great for hair, skin, and nails, and it’s sold @ most health food stores 🙂 Great thing about biotin is that it fixes the root of the problem, so you may end up not having to even use nail treatments 🙂

    Like

    • In my case I am Vitamin B defficient because I do not eat a lot of Red meat, so I already take a Super B Complex every day. I think its that I have been doing my nails so much. This happened once before about a year maybe longer ago, I was using Nailtiques products trying to make my nails stronger, and I think from using that so much my nails started peeling then too. Hopefully this product wil help me. I am glad you liked this post 🙂

      Like

  2. I have always had problems with my nails peeling. It seems to depend on stress and diet mostly for me as well as how much time my hands are in water. I use Skin Actives EMUlator Oil on my cuticles and that seems to help a lot!

    Like

    • I have been using Julep Cuticle Oil, I have never used anything on my cuticles before that helps with the drying. Hopefully this product works for me, I have been using this Sally Hanson formula for peeling nails and it does not seem to work. I have to wonder if it does include those chemicals the article talked about. 😦

      Like

  3. I used to have really bad problems with peeling. They still do it sometimes but it’s not bad at all when they do it. The only thing that I have really changed is making sure to moisturize my nails and cuticles. I use Lush Lemony Flutter at least once a day (most days I do it more often but always at least once) and it has made a huge difference in my nails. They are so much stronger and healthier. Most of them don’t peel anymore and the ones that do it will only be a very small section,, not enough to weaken the whole tip. I’ve also heard really good things about Hard As Hoof which is much cheaper than Lemony Flutter but I haven’t tried that one yet.

    Like

  4. I had this problem when I stopped getting acrylic nails every two weeks, after fifteen years of that, my poor nails were in terrible shape. I tried everything and the one thing that I will never be without is Nail Envy by OPI. Now I use Nail Envy Maintenance. I had the splitting problem. I tried the product from the picture, it’s sld on qvc, it helped but not with the splitting. Nail envy stopped it. It is expensive at around $15 a bottle but Penney’s salons carry it and they have a buy one get one sale ever so often, then I stock up. I hope yu get your nails back in shape, and I hope you give nail envy a try. I wish I had an extra bottle I would send it to you! That’s how much I love it, I usually end u giving my extra bottle away when someone asks about my nails being so strong and perfect. 🙂
    Keep us posted on how it goes for you. XoXo. — Judi

    Like

  5. The other thing. Used and loved was by Mavala, nail cream. It comes from horse trainers who used it on horses hooves, and works great. It was sold at Nordstrom but hard for me to get to a Nordstrom and I haven’t seen it for a while. Maybe you could find it at amazon ?

    Good luck though.xoxo –Judi

    Like

    • Before I painted my nails all the time, while I was trying to kick my nail biting habit, I was using Nailtiques product to make my nails stronger. When I used that on a daily basis I noticed my nails were peeling, when I looked it up they said to switch to the other Nailtiques Formula. Since I have been painting my nails so often I have to wonder if it is the chemicals in the nail polishes like the article says. I am currently using sally Hansen’s Cracked and Peeling Product, its a blue bottle and so far after about 2 weeks I do not think it is working, that is why I ordered this product to try since it it chemical free as far as the ones that they claim cause this issue.

      Like

    • It does suck! I hate it, Hope you are able to figure it out, I will let you know how this product works, if it is becuase of nail polish chemicals maybe this could be a new base coat. 🙂

      Like

  6. My nails never peeled until I started blogging and swatching so I’m guessing mine peel because of all the polish and remover! The bad thing about peeling nails is it seems to make my polish chip pretty quickly because you have that thin nail layer at the tip :(.

    Like

  7. I’ve been going through this more than usual lately, not sure what’s up. Had to cut off all my nails last night. I remember using Nailtiques Formula 2 for a long time years and years ago, but haven’t used it since. Maybe I’ll check out the brand you researched above. I really do think that my nail strengthener is the problem, so I’m back to using Sally Hansen’s double duty polish rather than her strengthener.

    Like

    • I honestly don’t know that this product works much better. I certainly dont have to cut all of my nails back like I did the first time, it just seems to prolong it, more than anything. I was going to re-do another post to see if there was any other ideas, I did not get a lot of resposnes on that so far. But I have been using this for about 3 weeks and its OK. not the best. not the worst. good luck with this.

      Like

Leave a Reply

