Sally Hansen Magnetic Nail Color Review – NOTD 50

For those of you that read my Influenster Vox Box Post yesterday, you saw that I was a lucky Influenster and got picked to receive the Summer 2012 box. In it, I received some awesome products that I just cannot wait to try, but of course the nail polish came first. I got “Sally Hansen’s Magnetic Nail Color in Graphite Gravity”. I have used Layla’s Magneffect product before so I will be comparing it to that a bit and giving you my honest opinion

*Disclaimer: this product was given to me review however the opinions are solely my own.

As with the other Polish brands that have done the Magnetic lines, it comes in many colors, “Golden Conduct, Polar Purple, Silver Elements, Kinetic Copper, Red-y Response, Ionic Indigo, Electric Emerald, and Graphite Gravity”

I also received one of my stamping plates (Hello Kitty) in the mail, that I had ordered last week from Amazon. So I decided to incorporate that also into this look/post.

So, as I said I have tried the Layla Magneffect nail polish and one of the things I liked about the Sally Hansen one was, that the directions differed. The Sally Hansen one wants you to paint a thin coat of polish on all ten nails (or in my case, 8) and let it dry. Then paint a thicker coat one by one, and hold the cap with the magnetic strip over your finger (there is even a little guide for your finger) for 10 seconds and voila you have your magnetic design.

The formula was thick which was to be expected but certainly not a downer, not hard to work with at all, I didn’t think. I liked that it instructed you paint that thin coat first as with the Layla (unless I did it wrong) when you held the magnet cap over the polish, it tended to pull the polish so much to make the design that it looked like you didn’t have polish on in some spots. With the Sally Hansen one I did not have that at all. 😀

Another pleasant surprise was, that the bottle was like a darkish silver color, I thought that when I held the magnet that the design would be white, I was pleased to see that it actually turned black and pulled the silver to make the design. I liked the polish much better that way. There is another color however that looks like it is silver with the whitish design if that is more your style.

I would for sure, purchase this in other colors, especially for the price, it was a great product, was easy to work with, so long as you don’t accidentally hold the magnet too close that it hits the strip and you get a chip. :/ but that is with any polish or magnetic polish.

I painted “Sonia Kashuk’s – Dream of Genie” on my ring fingers for accent. I used “Sinful Colors Blackest Black” for the Hello Kitty Nail Stamp.

+ Click on any picture to Enlarge +

* ~ * As Always, Thanks for Stopping by, Don’t forget to leave some love * ~ *

23 thoughts on “Sally Hansen Magnetic Nail Color Review – NOTD 50

  1. The colour of the polish is great! Too bad the magnets are always a little flawed. Like you said above, your thumb didn’t really work the same as the other fingers.
    I like the stamp too! It’s cute:D

    Like

Leave a Reply

