NOTD 144 – Double stamping!

Hey guys!

So first I am going to tell you about our Target trip first from last night… So we go in to Target and as always plan on getting one or two things we need and end up with much more.. I know I am not the only one! So we walk by the kids aisles and Don suggests we get coloring books… yes I am 26 and he is 32 but although we are adults we are not quite ‘grown-ups’ yet; Don’t get me wrong we are totally responsible Adults, just like a lot of kid stuff, movies, etc. LOL So anyway, Alright that sounds fun. We stand in the aisle for about 10 minutes picking out our two books and the crayons who knew that they had so many fun kind now. So we ended up with these giant coloring sheets, I get a Hello Kitty one of course and he gets Ninja Turtles. So we go to get some snacks and Capri Suns were on sale so we got three of those, and he ran out of chocolate syrup for chocolate milk.. among a few other things. So I had to pick up my prescription (ill tell you about that in a moment) so he went to check out. When we met up at the door, he was cracking up because the woman saw the coloring pages, the awesome set of crayons, the capri suns, and the chocolate syrup and told Don how he must be a good dad. LOL So we totally do not have kids, we are just big kids ourselves! Alright, now on to the Pharmacy… So I am standing there waiting for the script and the woman behind the counter comes over and while she is ringing the script up, she asks to see my nails, she says she loves them! She then wanted to take a picture of them, It made my day! She showed me her awesome white, neon pink, and silver nails! I then whipped out my cards I had made a while back with my website on it for times just like these, and told her about the blog. I came up to meet Don all smiles and told him all about it while he told me how good of a dad he was lol!

Alright now on to my awesome nails!

So I painted two coats of “OPI – Planks A lot”. With my new stamping plate from Vivid Lacquer ‘VL – 001’ I used “Essie’s – Nothing else Metals” and used the plaid stamp. I then thought that the contrast of the shiny purple looked a little crooked and I am just too anal so I thought well let me try double stamping, I have always wanted to do that. I then took the same stamp this time using ” Sally Hansen’s – Plumm-it” and offset the stamp a bit to make this effect. I must say I LOVE it.

IMG_2591

So I don’t know what it is, maybe the contrasting of purples here, the fact that I finally attempted double stamping, or what it is, but I absolutely adore this mani! Other than the woman at Target, I have gotten other compliments since wearing too, which is always nice 🙂

IMG_2590

IMG_2588

IMG_2602

Alright that’s all the pics on my fab nails for now. Don’t forget to come back on Friday for the gorgeous “Channeling Coco by Darling Diva”

+ Click on any picture to Enlarge +

* ~ * As Always, Thanks for Stopping by, Don’t forget to leave some love * ~ *

25 thoughts on “NOTD 144 – Double stamping!

  1. Hi Amanda, I just came across your blog by accident. I am definitely going to book mark it! I have tired stamping (I have a set of Bundle Monster plates) I have never had ANY luck. I basically gave up on it but seeing yours makes me want to try again. They are absolutely beautiful!! If you have any tips I would love to hear them!! Maybe a different kind of stamping plate?
    Anyway you are super talented!! 🙂
    Teresa

    Like

    • Thank you so much!!!! Really it’s a trial and error thing. You have to learn which polishes are the best for stamping. I do not use Konad usually just becuase I like some of the more indie brands as they have bigger plates and bigger stamping. Anyway once you mess around with it and get that down ( I highly reccomend the Essie Metallics to start out with) You just be quick about the stamp, brush the polish on, scrape it off, stamp the plate with your stamper and then press on to your nail and roll to other side. BEst thing to remember is the base has to be ABSOLUTELy dry or as you are rolling you will rub the base color off or just smudge it’ ive done that a million times. 😦 Any polish that is pretty decent in one coat will usually work for stamping. I hope that some of this helps and good luck!! 🙂

      Like

    • oh and my plates, I have some from Vivid lacquer on Etsy, hers are larger. Some from Ninja Polish those are larger too. and then I have a bundle monster set which I mostly use for the single art ones, I cant fit the full nail design on my nails, and I also have a Cheeky set and I think my one Hello Kitty is Konad but those agian are all single ones Those brands I didnt feel fit on my nail beds for the full design

      Like

    • Thank you so much!!! So glad to know we are not the only ones, Ive gotten some comments, or friends texting me cracknig up that they loved my post and they also love coloring! lol

      Like

  2. Lol, before I started blogging I had a sudden urge to color for a few weeks so my boyfriend forced me to get a coloring book and I ended up with a giant sized pad of tinkerbell. He of course insisted that colored pencils wouldn’t do so he bought me the biggest and fanciest crayola set Target had. It spins like a lazy suzanne…neither of us had the cool crayola packs when we were growing up so that filled a void 🙂
    Anyways, I love the double stamping. I think I’ve only tried it once, but never posted it. It’s pretty tricky if you have to line it up!

    Like

    • Haha that is too funny that sounds like us but he wouldn’t let me get the 20 dollar target crayon pack lollol we ended up with one below which still has way more than i grew up with or even knew existed. Plus markers i outline… Lol
      It was pretty tricky but i am definitely hooked, be prepared for more double stamping for sure 🙂

      Like

  3. As we say in SA: BOOF!
    Love it! The colours go great, double stamping looks spiff, it’s just too awesome! EXCELLENT job!!!
    The girls at the one store always compliment my nails and it annoys my mom because I “mustn’t tell them what I do”. But we nailarting the world one person at a time! We must share!!! Lol

    Like

    • Lollol right! People at work are always like oh my god what is a stamp how does it work i cant not tell them lol does she want us to tell them we free hand lol

      And thank you darling, more double stamping in my future for sure 🙂

      Like

  4. That is a hilarious story! I always wonder what people think when I check out with the most random list of items, but that was pretty good. Also- good choice on the coloring books. I, too, love coloring and particularly if you can find some new crayons. Is there a simpler joy in the world than a good sharp pencil and/or some fresh Crayolas?? I think not.

    Now on to the nails- these are FANTASTIC!! I love how you did the double stamping and how ingenious of you to have business cards made up! I could totally use those for sure. I always like it when people comment on my nails, but I’ve never had anyone take a picture!! That’s extra awesome. I think these nails are so great because of your genius decision to do the purple base, then the silver stamping, then the contrasting purple on top. That silver looks a little subtle but creates some distance between the purples and just looks awesome. Seriously, great job! 🙂

    Like

    • Haha right you know they wonder! And yes i love my new crayons lol its like nail polish there were so many different sets, metallics glitters, i was so excited. Lol i know right it was so cool she wanted to take a pic made it even better! Go to vistaprint.com its free for 250 business cards you only have to pay for shipping usually ends up being around 5 bucks. Just stick to the free designs mine just say my namr the blog website name and like nail art, betury, etc something like that. I was getting so many people to ask me or my husban cuz the people he works ith know me too that it just made sense lol he wasnt going to remember the full url haha! Thank you so much, it seems this mani is a hit ❤

      Like

Leave a Reply

