NOTD 104/105 – Fail Storm

As most of you saw the first week of January, Zoya hosted this amazing sale! Get three Zoya colors for only the shipping of $10.00 It seems like forever ago…. I just got mine after impatiently waiting! LOL One of the colors I wanted is of course a very popular color and was backordered. The polishes arrived today and just in time too!

Yesterday, I painted a design with “Deborah Lippmann – Strange Love” as the base, I then used some nail art tape and made some designs using “Zoya – Kissy” I didn’t like the contrast, it was way too close and you couldn’t see Strange Love in between. I took “Milani – nail art in silver glitter” and painted some stripes to frame it off. I didn’t HATE it, but I certainly didn’t love it. After one day, my polish all started to chip off so of course, I then hated it. I did not have this problem with “New Flesh” so I am not sure if it’s my base coat or “strange love”.

In any event here is one crappy picture of, the one day mani ,as I was not able to take pics with my lightbox before it chipped.

Picture 1011116

Okay so now onto the best part 😀

So my 3 Zoya’s I got were, “Storm”, “Charla”, and “Suri”. Since “Storm” is so sought after of course I had to try that one first. I will pick one of the others for this weeks ‘Featured Color Friday’

Here I am holding “Charla”

Picture 1111109

Picture 1111110Picture 1111107Picture 1011118

Picture 111115

Isn’t this color fabulous!!!!

So back to the base coat, I will leave you off with a question: What base coat does everyone use? I have been using nailtiques or Nailtek to help with the chipping and peeling but it doesn’t seem to keep the polish on. Other base coats I was using kept the polish on but my nails were cracking and peeling. So tell me what you use 🙂 I think I need to switch it up a bit here..

Don’t forget about the giveaway, still one week away until TWO winners are chosen! :D *NOW CLOSED*

+ Click on any picture to Enlarge +

* ~ * As Always, Thanks for Stopping by, Don’t forget to leave some love * ~ *

37 thoughts on “NOTD 104/105 – Fail Storm

  1. I always, always use Nail Envy upy OPI and have for many years with o problems. The nay timei have a problem is when I thinki need to switch things up. I take off my polish at nigh and apply 2 thin coats of nail envy, sleep with naked nails (gasp!) and then paint my nails in the morning. If I’m using a bright red, blue, purple, or greens, I use a base coat either a julep or whatever I have on hand over my nail envy. Just to help with clean up and staining.
    Also, I had a problem with splitting and I stopped using acetone remover for a cople of weeks and it stopped. I’m gong to have Tory that again I think, here pretty soon, my nails are very dry. But I just got a cuticle cream from Barielle I’m going to try first. I’ll let you know how that works.
    — Judi

    Btw, I nominated you for THE BLOG OF THE YEAR! You can see my posting at middleagedbeautyqueen.wordpress.com you totally deserve it.

    Like

  2. Oh, I forgot to say, I just received my shipping notice for my Zoya order today. I’m so excited, I think I’d ordered Storm as well. It’s been so long ago I’d forgot what I’d ordered! 🙂

    Like

  3. Storm is gorgeous! And I haven’t found a good base coat yet. OPI Natural Nails had no chipping, but nails started peeling. Poshe Nail Strengthening base coat has strengthened my nails, but now the polish itself peels! So I am also still searching for the perfect base coat.

    Like

  4. I know my comment will be kind of useless but I use Tip Top’s All in One base coat which has always worked for me. They do sell and ship internationally so you could email them if you wanted. It can be worn on its own and helps to strengthen the nails instead of hardening them and it works great as a base coat too.

    Oh and Storm is pretty HOT! Loving it

    Like

  5. I’ve been using Essie Sensitivity Base Coat for over 2 years and just ordered another bottle that I am anxiously waiting to arrive. It works great for me and I find it to be quick drying, and gentle. The odd time I decide to switch things up and use something else, I regret it.

    Like

  6. Nailtek as a base chips like crazy for me! I use nailtiques2 in between manis…but not usually as a base. I like orly bonder if i want my mani to last. Or orly ridge filler if i want a luscious stacked mani as the ridge filler helps build up the thickness and looks very professional. I just got nail envy moisturizing….and so far it seems like a good base, but i cant vouch for its longevity yet.
    Its hard to find a basecoat cuz ya want something that lasts long….but at the same time you want it to be nourishing and strengthening too! Not sure if any product really has both qualities??? If there is one out there …plz let me know!

    Like

  7. I love the Storm mani! I will have to look for that color. It looks awesome on you.
    I always use OPI base coat for Natural nails. My tips wear pretty fast as I am always doing something with my hands. I don’t find I chip unless I use chunky glitter polishes. they also will peel a layer of nail away, I think even when taking the polish off since it is so hard to get glitter off. I have limited my wearing of the chunky glitters to maybe once a month or every 6 weeks and once they start to chip, time to take off the polish.

    Like

  8. I’ve had good results using Orly Bonder. I used to use Essie Grow Stronger and it worked well, but for some reason I don’t remember, I switched to Orly. I love Storm and can’t wait for mine to come in!

    Like

  9. I use Essie All in One Base – it works better than any other base I’ve tried in terms of keeping polish on but is making my nails a bit peel-y and brittle 😦 I’m tempted to try Orly Bonder but I’ve heard it can make nails peel and flake :\

    Like

  10. Storm is gorgeous! For base coat, I like the china glaze growth and and nail strengthener or the calcium gel – keeps my nails in good shape 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

